Chaehyun Search engine optimisation repeats La Rambla (9a+) at Siurana


19-year-old climber Chaehyun Seo from South Korea has repeated La Rambla (9a+) at Siurana in Spain. She is only the second woman to climb this iconic route after Margo Hayes in 2017.

19-year-old Chaehyun Seo from South Korea has repeated one of the most famous 9a+ in the world, La Rambla (9a+) at Siurana in Spain. The huge stamina test was first climbed by Germany’s Alexander Huber in 1994 to a pocket at 3/4 height and subsequently extended to the top of the crag by Ramón Julián Puigblanque in 2003. Over time it has become one of the most coveted routes of its grade and it was by repeating this line in 2017 that Margo Hayes became the first woman in the world to climb 9a+.

Chaehyun Seo is known above all as a competition climber and in her senior debut she won the 2019 World Cup. She followed this up by being crowned Lead World Champions 2021 in Moscow, Russia, while this season she placed second overall behind Janja Garnbret.

Seo had previously redpointed up to 9a, Bad Girls Club at Rifle, USA, when she was 14. Having looked at La Rambla briefly in 2019, she now travelled to Spain with this route in mind. A mere seven attempts, spread out over five days of effort, are a strong indication that much more lies in store in the future.

TOPO: Siurana, Spain

La Rambla

First ascent: Alexander Huber, 1994
Extension: Ramón Julián Puigblanque 2003

2006 – Edu Marín Garcia, Spain
2006 – Chris Sharma, USA
2007 – Andreas Bindhammer, Germany
2007 – Patxi Usobiaga, Spain
2008 – Adam Ondra, Czech Republic, aged 15
2011 – Enzo Oddo, France
2013 – Sachi Amma, Japan
2013 – Felix Neumärker, Germany
2013 – Sangwon Son, South Korea
2013 – Alexander Megos, Germany, second attempt
2014 – Daniel Jung, Germany
2015 – Jonathan Siegrist, USA
2017 – Matty Hong, USA
2017 – Margo Hayes, USA, first female 9a+
2017 – Stefano Ghisolfi, Italy
2017 – Jacopo Larcher, Italy
2017 – Klemen Bečan, Slovenia
2017 – Sébastian Bouin, France
2018 – Tomás Ravanal, Chile
2018 – Jon Cardwell, USA
2019 – Piotr Schab, Poland
2019 – Dave Graham, USA
2019 – Gonzalo Larrocha, Spain
2019 – Cédric Lachat, Switzerland
2021 – Jorge Díaz-Rullo, ESP
2022 – Chaehyun Seo, ROK

Source link