Janja Garnbret wins 50th World Cup Medal at Villars Climbing World Cup


The second stage of the 2022 Lead World Cup was won last night in Villars, Switzerland, by Janja Garnbret and Homma Taisei. This is the Slovenian’s 50th World Cup medal.

The second stage of the 2022 Lead World Cup took place in Villars, Switzerland just a week after its debut in Innsbruck, Austria, and was won once again by Janja Garnbret from Slovenia who, in doing so, earned her fiftieth IFSC World Cup medal of her career so far. This is the 34th gold medal that the Olympic gold medallist has been awarded on the World Cup circuit, 20 of which she has won in Lead.

Climbing with her usual power and precision Garnbret secured the only top of the in  semi-final and final, making the dyno at half-height look easy and the tricky move to the chain look like a piece of cake, demonstrating once again that, at present, she is in a league of her own. Brooke Raboutou, of the USA, is on great form this season and after earning bronze in Innsbruck now fell two moves below the top at 37+ to take the silver medal. Falling off the crimps at 35+ her teammate Natalia Grossman secured bronze – her seventh medal this season, and managed to make up for a somewhat – for her standards – below par performance in the semis.

Italy’s Laura Rogora placed fourth, followed by France’s Manon Hily who, battling in her first World Cup final, was allowed a second attempt following a technical incident in which she was short roped. Seo Chaehyun of South Korea and Nakagawa Ryu and Tanii Natsuk of Japan all fell off the first filter move low down on the route and placed sixth, seventh and eighth respectively.

The breadth of talent in team Japan seems to know to end and after a staggering four men qualified for the final last night, it was 22-year-old Homma Taisei who earned his first World Cup win with an awesome performance and a score of 36+. In second place was last week’s bronze medallist Jesse Grupper of the USA whose 34+ score earned him his best performance to date and silver, while teammate Colin Duffy stuck the same hold but failed to move off it, earning bronze after his history-making Innsbruck weekend during which he became the first male to secure the win in both Boulder and Lead at the same competition.

After winning Boulder gold at Brixen Germany’s Yannick Flohé proved his equally powerful with a rope to place fourth, ahead of Yoshida Satone and Ogata Yoshiyuki of Japan, fifth and sixth. France’s Mejdi Schalck placed seventh, scoring 19+, and Japan’s Yurikusa Ao placed eighth with 18+.

1 Janja Garnbret SLO top
2 Brooke Raboutou USA 37+
3 Natalia Grossman USA 35+
4 Laura Rogora ITA 31+
5 Manon Hily FRA 28+
6 Chaehyun Seo KOR 17+
7 Ryu Nakagawa JPN 17+
8 Natsuki Tanii JPN 17+
9 Mia Krampl SLO
10 Mei Kotake JPN
11 Hélène Janicot FRA
12 Sara Copar SLO
13 Molly Thompson-Smith GBR
14 Aleksandra Totkova BUL
15 Salomé Romain FRA
16 Julia Chanourdie FRA
17 Vita Lukan SLO
18 Lucka Rakovec SLO
19 Liv Egli SUI
20 Mattea Pötzi AUT
21 Yuetong Zhang CHN
22 Ievgeniia Kazbekova UKR
23 Miu Kakizaki JPN
24 Risa Ota JPN
25 Tjasa Slemensek SLO
26 Jessica Pilz AUT
27 Alannah Yip CAN
28 Sol Sa KOR
29 Futaba Ito JPN
30 Michelle Hulliger SUI
31 Gayeong Oh KOR
32 Noa Shiran ISR
33 Ilaria Scolaris ITA
34 Nolwenn Arc FRA
35 Zhilu Luo CHN
36 Anne-Sophie Koller SUI
37 Lana Skusek SLO
38 Yejoo Seo KOR
39 Ayala Kerem ISR
40 Michaela Smetanova CZE
41 Melina Costanza USA
42 Kyra Condie USA
43 Käthe Atkins GER
44 Rebecca Frangos CAN
45 Ignacia Mellado Quinteros CHI
46 Valeri Kremer ISR
46 Stasa Gejo SRB
48 Quinn Mason USA
49 Anja Köhler SUI
50 Momoko Abe JPN
51 Sabina Van Essen NED
52 Babette Roy CAN
53 Luisa Flohé GER
53 Noé Looser SUI
55 Emi Takashiba CAN
56 Valentina Aguado ARG
57 Kylie Cullen USA
57 Jennifer Wood GBR
57 Naama Yohai ISR
57 Hongchun Xiang CHN
61 Thea Cameron GBR
62 Sukma Lintang Cahyani INA
63 Alejandra Contreras CHI
64 Margarita Agambayeva KAZ
65 Martina Demmel GER
66 Maya Dreamer ISR
67 Aida Torres Illamola ESP
68 Indiana Chapman CAN
69 Muykuay Silva CHI
70 Emily Scott AUS
71 Elizabeth Sepulveda PUR
72 Tseng-Shun Wong HKG
73 Nur Khalishah INA
74 Mariana Hanggi Correia BRA
75 María Fernanda Hidalgo Amezquita MEX
76 Mia Weeda AUS
77 Nur Diatul Jannah INA
78 Phoebe Kenderdine NZL
dns Emily Phillips GBR
dns Wai-Mui Ling HKG

1 Taisei Homma JPN 36+
2 Jesse Grupper USA 34+
3 Colin Duffy USA 34
4 Yannick Flohé GER 33
5 Satone Yoshida JPN 27+
6 Yoshiyuki Ogata JPN 26+
7 Mejdi Schalck FRA 19+
8 Ao Yurikusa JPN 18+
9 Stefan Scherz AUT
10 Paul Jenft FRA
11 Luka Potocar SLO
12 Domen Skofic SLO
13 Dohyun Lee KOR
14 Nicolas Collin BEL
15 Sean Bailey USA
16 Diego Fourbet FRA
17 Kokoro Fujii JPN
18 Alexander Megos GER
19 Sascha Lehmann SUI
20 Masahiro Higuchi JPN
21 Hannes Puman SWE
22 Victor Baudrand CAN
23 Romaric Geffroy FRA
24 Nimrod Marcus ISR
25 Shinyeong Yun KOR
26 Hugo Parmentier FRA
27 Jonas Utelli SUI
27 Yuval Shemla ISR
29 James Pope GBR
29 Hamish Mcarthur GBR
29 Martin Bergant SLO
32 Cheung-Chi Shoji Chan HKG
32 Maximillian Milne GBR
34 Sebastian Halenke GER
35 Giovanni Placci ITA
36 Nikolay Rusev BUL
37 Martin Stranik CZE
38 Sungsu Lee KOR
39 Mikel Asier Linacisoro Molina ESP
40 Dimitri Vogt SUI
41 Milan Preskar SLO
41 Mathias Posch AUT
43 Yongchen Chen CHN
44 Anthony Gullsten FIN
44 Leto Cavé NED
44 Campbell Harrison AUS
44 Alex Waterhouse GBR
48 Giorgio Tomatis ITA
49 Ross Fulkerson USA
50 Jongwon Chon KOR
51 Oscar Baudrand CAN
52 Nino Grünenfelder SUI
53 Santiago De Alba Flores MEX
53 Fredrik Serlachius SWE
53 Benjamin Hanna USA
53 Vasil Vassilev BUL
57 William Ridal GBR
58 Fedir Samoilov UKR
59 Cheuk-Hei Ho HKG
60 Filip Schenk ITA
61 Kibeom Kwon KOR
62 Guy Mcnamee CAN
62 Jinbin Huang CHN
62 Benjamin Vargas CHI
65 Joe Goodacre USA
65 Jakub Zietek POL
67 Julien Clémence SUI
68 Christian Wagner CHI
69 Fabian Förander SWE
70 Ronny Escobar CHI
70 Chi-Fung Au HKG
72 Joaquin Urrutia CHI
73 Kindar Mcnamee CAN
74 Hritik Marne IND
75 Tsz-Kiu Lau HKG
76 Mel Janse Van Rensburg RSA
77 Musauwir Musauwir INA
78 Muhammad Rizky Syahrafli Simatupang INA
79 Man-Hei Chung HKG
80 Muhammad Ferza Fernada Abdi INA
80 Joshua Bruyns RSA
82 José Alejandro Sauceda Rodríguez MEX
83 Denis Zhendinskiy KAZ
84 Muhammad Ramzi Firmansyah INA

Source link