Lastly! Zane Smith Wins NASCAR Tenting World Truck Collection Championship in Additional time


  • Zane Smith held off defending champion Ben Rhodes by 0.236 seconds at the end of Friday night’s wild last two laps of the Lucas Oil 150.
  • For the final restart, Smith chose to line up behind Championship 4 qualifier Rhodes rather than outside of his position.
  • From this position, Zane Smith was able to prevail over eventual third-place finisher Chandler Smith.

    NASCAR can only hope its Xfinity Series and Cup Series championship races will be as heartbreaking, unpredictable and exciting as Friday night’s season-ending Camping World Truck Series at Phoenix Raceway.

    Ford driver and pole winner Zane Smith dominated much of the Lucas Oil 150 (extended to 154 laps), leading five times for 77 laps and winning stages 1 and 2. and he restarted 11th with 11 laps remaining.

    “I didn’t want to let that happen,” Smith, 23, said afterwards. “When I finished 11th, I knew I was in much uglier times. I would either break or come home with the championship trophy and we got the big one. There was no other option.”

    With another warning late in the race for Ty Majeski’s crash, the race sent an overtime of three laps, with third-placed Smith battling past leader and defending champion Ben Rhodes and second-placed Chandler Smith to win by 0.236 seconds. It was his fourth win of the season for Front Row Motorsports and the seventh of his career in which he finished 2nd, 2nd and now 1st in the final points.

    Rhodes was second, then Chandler Smith, John Hunter Nemechek, Stewart Friesen, Grant Enfinger, Cory Heim, Tanner Gray, Kaden Honeycutt and Carson Hocevar. After riding in the top 10 and fighting until the final laps, Majeski crashed to 20th place.

    Zane Smith takes the queen Friday night in Arizona.

    Sean GardnerGetty Images

    Friday night’s Championship 4 race was the last to be sponsored and supported by Camping World. Beginning in February next year in Daytona Beach, the premier NASCAR series will be sponsored by Craftsman, an early truck sponsor.

    The series began in 1995 as the NASCAR Super Truck Series. It was renamed the Craftsman Truck Series from 1996 to 2008, the Camping World Truck Series from 2009 to 2018, and again in 2021 and this year. It was renamed the Gander Outdoors Truck Series in 2019 and the Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series in 2020.

    Among the championship owners: Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick, Dale Earnhardt, Bill Davis, Jack Roush, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, Duke Thorson and this year’s championship owner, Bob Jenkins. Among the championship drivers: Mike Skinner, Ron Hornaday Jr., Greg Biffle, Todd Bodine, Johnny Benson Jr., Matt Crafton, Jack Sprague, Austin Dillon, Erik Jones and Christopher Bell.

    Kyle Busch Motorsport News

    Two-time Cup Series champion Kyle Busch has named the new driver line-up for his Camping World Truck Series team, which is making the switch from Toyota to Chevrolet next year. The move is consistent with his move in the Cup Series from Toyota-based Joe Gibbs Racing to Chevrolet-based Richard Childress Racing.

    Chase Purdy will drive the full schedule in the #4 Chevy Silverado, and Jack Wood will share the #51 truck with Busch and a rotating roster of Cup, Xfinity Series and Truck Series drivers. Seven-time cup winner Jimmie Johnson was even mentioned as perhaps part of KBM’s new Chevy lineup.

    NASCAR Camping World Truck Series races

    28th Annual Lucas Oil 150

    Phoenix racetrack

    Avondale, Arizona

    1. (1) Zane Smith (P), Ford, 154.

    2nd (6) Ben Rhodes (P), Toyota, 154.

    3. (12) Kramer Smith (P), Toyota, 154.

    4. (10) John Hunter Nemechek, Toyota, 154.

    5. (5) Stewart Friesen, Toyota, 154.

    6. (13) Grant Enfinger, Chevrolet, 154.

    7. (3) Corey Heim #, Toyota, 154.

    8. (4) Gerber Gray, Ford, 154.

    9. (15) Kaden Honeycutt, Toyota, 154.

    10. (22) Carson Hocevar, Chevrolet, 154.

    11. (23) Derek Kraus, Chevrolet, 154.

    12. (9) Matt Crafton, Toyota, 154.

    13. (2) Layne Riggs, Toyota, 154.

    14. (24) Tyler Ankrum, Toyota, 154.

    15. (20) Colby Howard, Chevrolet, 154.

    16. (17) Jake Garcia, Chevrolet, 154.

    17. (21) Taylor Gray, Ford, 154.

    18. (32) Outlaw Alan #, Chevrolet, 154.

    19. (19) Chase Purdy, Toyota, 154.

    20. (8) Ty Majeski (P), Toyota, 154.

    21. (26) Dean Thompson #, Chevrolet, 154.

    22. (11) Matt DiBenedetto, Chevrolet, 153.

    23. (31) Tyler Hill, Toyota, 152.

    24. (30) Austin Wayne Self, Chevrolet, 152.

    25. (25) Blaine Perkins #, Chevrolet, 152.

    26. (28) Chris Hacker, Toyota, 152.

    27. (29) Timmy Hill, Toyota, 152.

    28. (27) Johnny Sauter, Chevy, 152.

    29. (16) Jack Wood #, Chevrolet, 151.

    30. (7) Christian Eckes, Toyota, 151.

    31. (14) Hailie Deegan, Ford, accident, 133.

    32. (18) Rajah Caruth, Chevrolet, accident, 106.

    33. (33) Spencer Boyd, Chevrolet, too slow, 63.

    34. (34) Keith McGee, Chevrolet, DVP, 15.

    35. (35) Armani Williams, Chevrolet, accident, 6th

    (Bold: Championship 4 contenders)

    Average speed of the race winner: 89,003km/h.

    Time of the race: 1 hr 43 min 49 sec Profit margin: 0.236 seconds.

    warning flags: 7 for 41 rounds.

    Lead Changes: 15 out of 7 drivers.

    Lap leader: Z.Smith (P)1;L. Rigs 2-6; W. Smith (P) 7-48; Nemechek 49; C. Home #50-54; J. Nemechek 55-86; Z Smith (P) 87-93; J. Nemechek 94-97; C Smith (P) 98-105; J. Nemechek 106-111; Z Smith (P) 112-136; J. Nemechek 137; S. Friesen 138-143; B. Rhodes (P) 144-151; C.Smith (P) 152; Z. Smith (P) 153-154.

    Summary of the leaders (drivers, lead times, led laps): Zane Smith (P) 5 times for 77 laps; John Hunter Nemechek 5 times for 44 rounds; Chandler Smith (P) 2 times for 9 rounds; Ben Rhodes (P) 1 time for 8 rounds; Stewart Friesen 1 time for 6 rounds; Layne Riggs 1 time for 5 rounds; Corey Heim #1 time for 5 laps.

    Stage #1 Top Ten: 38,51,52,4,88,99,23,18,98,62

    Stage #2 Top Ten: 38,4,18,51,66,88,23,52,17,99