Simone Biles Owns NFL Boyfriend Jonathan Owens in Rope Climbing Contest – NBC 6 South Florida

0
325

Simone Biles owns an NFL friend in a rope climbing competition that originally appeared on NBC Sports Washington

Simone Biles has already broken records, defied gravity and made history as the first woman to win seven US all-round tournament titles before the 2020 Tokyo Games. But the Olympic gymnast added another performance to her list in the trailer for her new documentary Simone vs. Herself.

In the short clip for the upcoming series, streamed on Facebook June 15, Biles challenges her friend, Houston Texans Safety Jonathan Owens, to a rope climbing race. It proves that even an NFL player is no match for a world-class athlete like her.

“I was about three-quarters of the way,” Owens said in the clip. “I just burned out.”

Simone vs. Herself will grapple with how Biles dealt with one of the toughest challenges of her career, the postponement of the 2020 Tokyo Games last year. She talks about her mental state at the time and the expectations she had for the Olympic Games this summer.

Biles is expected to dominate Japan, but it is not known who will compete by their side.

That will be finalized at the US Olympic Gymnastics Trials. The coverage will air on NBC beginning June 25 at 8:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m. PT and June 27 at 8:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. PT.