Space softball gamers named to Hooks Preseason All-Star Workforce


The Hooks announced Thursday that 30 high school softball players have been named to the 2023 Hooks South Texas Preseason All-Star team.

Representing 18 schools in the Coastal Bend area, the players will be honored Thursday, January 26 at 6 p.m. at the Omni Hotel in downtown Corpus Christi.

San Diego and Santa Gertrudis Academy led with three representatives each in the Small School/Private School Division, consisting of athletes from Classes A through 3A, followed by athletes from Odem, Refugio, Aransas Pass, Falfurrias, IWA, London and Riviera.

Class 4A-5A was balanced, with six schools—Alice, Bishop, Calallen, Carroll, Flour Bluff, and Tuloso-Midway—receiving two placements each.

Veterans Memorial, Sinton and Ray rounded out the rest of the big school contingent with one player each.

The 30 standouts in softball were selected by head coaches from 31 high schools in the Corpus Christi area.

Also attending the event will be John Paul II graduate Jose Trevino, a New York Yankees catcher and 2022 American League All-Star, who will be the keynote speaker at the 17th South Texas Winter Baseball Banquet.

Ray graduate Nick Loftin, who plays under the Kansas City Royals system, is named Mike Adams South Texas Pro Player of the Year.

The Hooks will also honor pitcher Jose Bravo and outfielder Justin Dirden for player of the year, followed by Refugio’s Dan Firova, who will receive a lifetime achievement award.

South Texas High School Softball Preseason All-Stars

Private Class 3A Division

pitchers — Ava Deutsch, Sr., IWA; Jocelyne Galvan, Sr., Aransas Pass; Krysten Perez, Sr., San Diego; Skyler Ramos Jr., Riviera; Crystal Rodriguez, Sr., shelter

catcher — Makaylee Adams, Sr., San Diego

First base — Isabella De Los Santos, supra, Santa Gertrudis Academy

Second Base — Aubriela Ochoa, Jr., Falfurrias

Third Base — Trinity Silguero, Jr., St. Gertrude Academy

short stop — Parker Rhoden Sr., London

Fielder — Chadriana Callis, Sr., shelter; Carina Palaces, Jr., St. Gertrude Academy; Bella Salinas, Sr., edema

Designated Player — Zoey Garcia, Sr., Odem

Utility – Marlaina Sanchez Jr., San Diego

Class 4A-5A Division

pitchers — Madeline Aguilar, Jr., Veterans Memorial; Jamie Burch, Jr., Sinton; Ava Hernandez, Sr., Alice; Jade Moreno, Sr., Flour Bluff

catcher — Brookelynn Meador, supra, Calallen

First base – Alaunah Almaraz Jr., Calallen

second base — Demiree Stafford, supra, Tuloso-Midway

third base — Sedalia Flores, Sr., Bishop short stop — Leah Cran, Sr., Ray

outfield player — Alnna Cruz, Sr., Bishop; Samiya Johnson, Sr., Flour Bluff; Aylah Mata Jr., Carroll Designated Player — Clarissa Valdez, Jr., Tuloso-Midway

utility — Kiley Flores, supra, Carroll; Jackie Molina, Sr., Alice